News archive 2011


The term of office of three members of the ESEE Board ends this year after 3 years.

All ESEE members (except students) are kindly invited to make use of the democratic right to choose their representatives.

The ballot for 2011 is supported by the election tool provided by ISEE.

It simply requires you to login with your ESEE and ISEE login name and password and to choose 3 representatives (new or renewed) at

Information on the nominees is given at the election webpage.

The nominees are:

  • Nina Eisenmenger, ESEE Treasurer (Austria)
  • Timothy J Foxon, (UK)
  • Reinhard Madlener (Germany)
  • Olivier Petit (France)
  • Nuno Videira (Portugal)

Please use your right to vote, which certainly strengthens the commitment of the Board.

The ballot is open until 29. November, 24:00 CET.

This year

only one student representative, Jasper Kenter from the University of Aberdeen, was nominated. Therefore, he is elected unopposed and student members will have the opportunity to elect a second student representative next year.

Full professorship in Economics of the Environment

The Faculty of Geosciences and Environment at the University of Lausanne invites applications for a full professorship in economics of the environment with a focus on ecological economics. A specialization in ecological macroeconomics (including issues such as “Prosperity without Growth”), institutional economics, natural resources and environmental economics (natural heritage, ecosystem budgets), or development studies would be an asset. The successful candidate is expected to strengthen and complement existing centres of competence of the Faculty in the areas of development studies, political ecology, industrial ecology, environmental philosophy, and ethics, or geography.

» Read the full article

Environmental Values Free Access for ESEE Members


of the ESEE can obtain free online access to the journal Environmental Values for the current year.  This requires using codes via the publishers website at:  In order for ESEE members to get access codes please email the ESEE Secretary, Klaus Kubeczko ( who will supply these to any current member.

Happy reading.

Clive L. Spash
Environmental Values